RSS

Working on Bugs for Mozilla

17 Jan

If you read my previous blog post, I wanted to pick up bug 716107, which involved the suppression of warnings when users hit different keys when the browser is on fullscreen mode from a specific element. However, this bug proved too complicated for me to tackle. It does not only involve fixing code, it also involved haggling with folks from security as enabling new key strokes may open up other security bugs. (I DID cc myself on this bug and would like to see how they proceed, 😛 ).

So for the past few weeks I picked two bugs on bugzilla.

  1. Bug 601535 – This is a refactoring bug, where I had to go through all the code in the content/media folder for cases where arithmetic operations can cause overflow and make use of a “helper class” called CheckedInt.h to check the overflow. (This bug was partly finished by Kyle Huey)
  2. Bug 633602 – This is more of a continuation of what I did in the last four month. I will be continuing to contribute to the test suite (once a new patch on the mouselock core is reasonably done).

Building Firefox on Rome

On another topic, I just got my account on “Rome”. Rome is this really fast machine sitting in Seneca College that can truncate the time taken to build Firefox immensely. However, there is a problem when building on the Rome server ( big surprise there, NOT!!! ). This was caused mainly due to a missing pre-requisite for building Firefox on Linux.

Updated: The missing library is now fixed. 🙂

Here is a blog post for those who want to set up a ssh session to run builds. Note that the instructions applies to any user who wishes to build Firefox on some remote server of their own as long they have access to the server. Highly plausible scenario: users with slow Windows machine, ssh-ing to a fast Linux box to build Firefox.

So, I had started working on applying the patch that was landed by Kyle and I will be taking over the driver seat from there.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in Firefox, Media, MouseLock, Mozilla, Open Source

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment